June 16, 2011

Women's Soccer releases 2011 schedule

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – The Ursinus College women's soccer team will open its 2011 season on Saturday, September 3, by taking on Salisbury University as part of the Farmingdale State Tournament. The 16-match slate, announced Thursday, features six home contests which will take place on newly renovated Patterson Field.

The Bears continue their trip in New York on Sunday, September 4, as they take on Bard in the second game of the tournament.

The home opener is slated for Wednesday, September 7, at 7 p.m. as the Bears take on Moravian. Tournament play continues for Ursinon the weekend of September 10 as the Bears travel to Stevens Institute to play in the Engineering Cup.

The family day match will take place on Satuday, September 17, as the Bears host Gettysburg at 6 p.m. That also marks the Centennial Conference opener for Ursinus.

Following the Gettysburg, all but one match will be against Centennial Conference opponents, as the lone non-conference match will be a Thursday, October 13th match at Immaculata at 7 p.m.

Road contests include a trip to Swarthmore on Wednesday, September 21 (7 p.m.), McDaniel on Saturday, October 1 (1 p.m.), Haverford on Wednesday, October 5 (4 p.m.), Dickinson on Saturday, October 22 (2:30 p.m.) with the regular season finale taking place on Saturday, October 29 at Muhlenberg (7 p.m.).

Home contests include F&M on Friday, September 23 (7 p.m.), Bryn Mawr on Wednesday, September 28 (7:30 p.m.), Johns Hopkins on Saturday, October 8 (4 p.m.) and Washington College on Wednesday, October 19 (7 p.m.).

Ursinus finished the 2010 season with a record of 10-7-1 and 6-4 in conference play, advancing to the Centennial semifinals.