Ursinus Volleyball set for 2013 campaign

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – The Ursinus College women's volleyball team will open up the 2013 season at the 11th Annual Greyhound Premiere hosted by Moravian College on Friday, August 30 as the Bears play the host Greyhounds starting at 4 p.m.

In all, the Bears will play six matches that weekend to open up the season. 

Following the match with Moravian, the Bears will take on Marywood at 6 p.m. that night. The rest of the tournament schedule will be determined on how the Bears perform in the first two matches.

The following weekend, the Bears play in their first of three tri-matches starting on Saturday, September 7. The Bears make the short trip to Rosemont to play Wesley at 1 p.m. before taking on the host Ravens at 3 p.m. 

The home opener is on Tuesday, September 10 at 7 p.m. against Delaware Valley.

Following that match, the Bears will open conference play on Saturday, September 14 as they travel to Gettysburg for a tri-match. They play the host Bullets before taking on Hood College. 

Ursinus then plays six of the next seven matches at home, starting Wednesday, September 18 against PSU-Berks followed by F&M (Saturday, September 21), and Immaculata on Tuesday, September 24.

A short road trip follows on Thursday, September 26 at Bryn Mawr, with the Bears returning home on Homecoming to take on McDaniel (11 a.m.) and PSU-Harrisburg (3 p.m.) on Saturday, September 28. 

The homestand closes on Wednesday, October 2, as the Bears take on Haverford. 

The next few matches then are on the road, starting at Johns Hopkins on Saturday, October 5, followed by a trip to the Neumann Knights Fall Classic on Friday, October 11 and Saturday, October 12. 

The Bears return back home to play three straight home matches, starting with a matchup against Cairn on Tuesday, October 15, followed by matches with Dickinson (Saturday, October 19) and Muhlenberg (Wednesday, October 23).

A quad match follows on Saturday, October 26, with Ursinus traveling to PSU-Abington along with Trinity (D.C.) and Susquehanna. 

The home finale is scheduled for Wednesday, October 30 against Swarthmore, followed by the regular season finale on Saturday, November 2 at Washington.

Ursinus enters the season under the direction of second-year head coach Joe Groff.