Wrestling Slays Giants For 8th Straight Win

Wrestling Slays Giants For 8th Straight Win

LA PLUME, Pa. – Competing for the second time in as many days, the Ursinus College wrestling team extended its winning streak to 11 with victories over Penn State Wrestling Club (35-3) and Keystone College (46-12) on Sunday.

Only five weight classes were contested against the host Giants, and the Bears picked up pins in three of them. At 149, senior Alexander Kramer took down Jacob Richards in 3:58, and classmate Derek Arnold pinned Thomas Pashinski in 2:16 at 157. Senior Matan Peleg needed a mere 32 seconds to dispatch Matt Ebanez in the heavyweight class.

Sophomore Zachary Goranson defeated Zachary Briggs, 9-1, at 165, and the Bears took four matches by forfeit.

Earlier in the day, Ursinus dealt Penn State Wrestling Club a 35-3 defeat. The Bears bookended the match with pins, as sophomore Patrick Ammirati pinned Ben Clay in 2:10 at 133 and Peleg took down Andrius Duncan in 1:31 at heavyweight. 

Freshman Thomas Boldosser edged Jabel Warren, 8-6, at 141, and Kramer picked up a 12-8 decision over Josh Hammaker at 149.

Senior Robert Endy pinned Muad Perry in a time of 5:37 at 157. Sophonore Jarret DiGiantomasso eked out a 5-4 victory over Thomas Hatzipavlides at 165 before senior Corey Markovitch whitewashed Forrest Rutledge, 13-0, in the 174-pound bout.

Sophomore William McGinley posted a 13-3 major decision opposite Tom Gustis at 197 before Peleg capped the match with the first of his two falls.

The wrestling squad is back in action on Saturday, January 28, when the Bears travel to Muhlenberg to face 7th-ranked Stevens and Merchant Marine in a Centennial Conference tri-match.

Ursinus 46, Keystone 12

125 – Josh Rivera (K) won by forfeit

133 – Ryan Celenza (K) pinned Patrick Ammirati (2:11)

141 – Thomas Boldosser (U) won by forfeit

149 – Alexander Kramer (U) pinned Jacob Richards (3:58)

157 – Derek Arnold (U) pinned Thomas Pashinski (2:16)

165 – Zachary Goranson (U) maj. dec. Zachary Briggs, 9-1

174 – Patrick Rafferty (U) won by forfeit

184 – Deon Edmund (U) won by forfeit

197 – Zebulin Pfeiffer (U) won by forfeit

285 – Matan Peleg (U) pinned Matt Ebanez (0:32)