Wrestling Sweeps Temple Tri-Match

Wrestling Sweeps Temple Tri-Match

PHILADELPHIA – The Ursinus College wrestling opened its dual-meet slate with a pair of dominating victories over Rutgers-Camden and host Temple on Saturday.

The Bears (2-0) won the first three weight classes against the Scarlet Raptors by forfeit. Senior Patrick Rowe was the first to take the mat, edging out a 5-2 decision against Matt Sterneski at 149.

Freshman Noah Supsic scored a 20-1 technical fall early in the third period against Trent Stock at 157, his first tech fall of the season. Senior Zachary Goranson followed with his own technical fall, 16-0, over Louis Aveno just 31 seconds into the third period.

After Ursinus dropped back-to-back bouts at 174 and 184, freshman Kyle Schaffer blanked Sean Miles by a 5-0 count at 197, and senior Zebulin Pfeiffer pulled out an 8-6 victory over Kevin Kanaski in the heavyweight clash.

Junior Brandon Miller kicked off the parade of pins against Temple at 133, dropping George Marte in only 54 seconds. Freshman Kyle Seibert downed Andy Yoon in 1:51 at 141 pounds. Both grapplers secured their second fall of the season.

Supsic dropped Nick Sigismondi in 1:51 for his second pin of the season at 157, kick-starting a stretch of five consecutive pins in contested bouts to end the match.

Freshman Gary Nagle grabbed his second pin of the year at 174, needing just 40 seconds to dispatch Christian Petnicci. Senior Anthony Cutrufello handled Dan Esenov in 1:12 at 184, already his team-leading seventh fall of the season.

Sophomore Charlie Wildermuth earned his second pin of the year over David Esenov at 197 (2:46) to round the match.

The Bears head to Florida for the annual Citrus Invitational on December 29 and 30.

Ursinus 37, Rutgers-Camden 10

125 – Hunter Brown (UC) won by forfeit

133 – Brandon Miller (UC) won by forfeit

141 – Kyle Seibert (UC) won by forfeit

149 – Patrick Rowe (UC) dec. Matt Sterneski, 5-2

157 – Noah Supsic (UC) tech fall Trent Stock, 20-1 (5:26)

165 – Zachary Goranson (UC) won by forfeit

174 – Isaiah Bryant (RC) major dec. Gary Nagle, 14-2

184 – Anthony Tamayo (RC) inj. def. Malcolm Hunt (0:32)

197 – Kyle Schaffer (UC) dec. Sean Miles, 5-0

285 – Zebulin Pfeiffer (UC) dec. Kevin Kanaski, 8-6

Ursinus 60, Temple 0

125 – Hunter Brown (UC) won by forfeit

133 – Brandon Miller (UC) pinned George Marte, 0:54

141 – Kyle Seibert (UC) pinned Andy Yoon, 1:41

149 – Patrick Rowe (UC) won by forfeit

157 – Noah Supsic (UC) pinned Nick Sigismondi, 1:51

165 – Zachary Goranson (UC) won by forfeit

174 – Gary Nagle (UC) pinned Christian Petnicci, 0:40

184 – Anthony Cutrufello (UC) pinned Dan Esenov, 1:12

197 – Charlie Wildermuth (UC) pinned David Esenov, 2:46

285 – Zebulin Pfeiffer (UC) won by forfeit

Ex. – Hunter Brown (UC) pinned Anthony Zayas, 1:02